Divine Word Missionaries

Peace, Justice and Integrity Of Creation


JPIC


Back to

Peace & Justice

Members' Area

Site Map

Home


bullet Lent 2008: 40 days with the 40 least
bullet Cuaresma 2008 - 40 días con los 40 últimos

Lent 2008: 40 days with the 40 least

Prayer intentions during 40 days of this year's Lent for the 40 least developed countries in the world.

The theme for this year is: WOMEN’S RIGHTS
(more can be found on the web page: http://www.marianistas.org/~justiciaypaz/cuaresma/).
IHD = index of human development (0=no development, 1=full development)

Calendar for the Lent of 2008

  

DATE COUNTRY IHD Theme
       
YOUNG GIRLS' ISSUES
Wednesday 6 February Niger 0,311 Nutrition and growth
Thursday 7 February Sierra Leona 0,335 Girl soldiers
Friday 8 February Mali 0,338 Discrimination in growth
Saturday 9 February Burkina Faso 0,342 Young girls as laborers
Sunday 10 February Guinea Bissau 0,349 Premature matrimonies
       
MARRIAGE, MOTHERHOOD, FAMILY
Monday 11 February Rep. Centro Africana 0,353 Maternal mortality
Tuesday 12 February Chad 0,368 Polygamy
Wednesday 13 February Ethiopia 0,371 Domestic work
Thursday 14 February Burundi 0,384 Double discrimination of elderly women
Friday 15 February Mozambique 0,390 Human rights and human dignity
       
SEXUAL VIOLENCE
Saturday 16 February R.D. Congo 0,391 Sexual violence in times of war
Sunday 17 February Somalia no data Mutilation of woman’s genitals
       
HEALTH
Monday 18 February Malawi 0,400 AIDS and women
Tuesday 19 February Zambia 0,407 Access to the healthcare
Wednesday 20 February Ivory Coast 0,421 Millennium Goals in the field of health
Thursday 21 February Benin 0,428 Education for health
       
EDUCATION
Friday 22 February Tanzania 0,430 Women’s illiteracy
Saturday 23 February Angola 0,439 Girls who drop out of school
Sunday 24 February Afghanistan no data Education of women under the Taliban
Monday 25 February Guinea 0,445 Women in Higher Education
       
SOCIAL VIOLENCE
Tuesday 26 February Nigeria 0,448 Stoning of women
Wednesday 27 February Rwanda 0,450 The most vulnerable in times of violence
Thursday 28 February Eritrea 0,454 Social discrimination of women
       
ACCESS TO WORK
Friday 29 February Senegal 0,460 Difficult flight to the rich North
Saturday 1 March Gambia 0,479 Decent employment opportunities for women
Sunday 2 March North Korea no data Commercial sexual trafficking
       
WORK OF WOMEN
Monday 3 March Haiti 0,482 Work in sweatshop conditions in cities
Tuesday 4 March Mauritania 0,486 Women's cooperatives
Wednesday 5 March Kenya 0,491 Land belongs to men (not to women)
       
WOMEN AND THE CULTURE
Thursday 6 March Zimbabwe 0,491 Women and spiritual wisdom
Friday 7 March Yemen 0,492 Politics of equality
Saturday 8 March Lesotho 0,494 Triple discrimination: woman, poor and black
       
WOMEN AND POLITICS
Sunday 9 March Liberia no data Women in parliaments
Monday 10 March Djibouti 0,494 Women’s right to vote
Tuesday 11 March Togo 0,495 Organizations that work with African women
Wednesday 12 March Swaziland 0,500 Rights of Indigenous people and Human Rights
Thursday 13 March Uganda 0,502 Towards a better world thanks to committed women
       
LEARNING FROM WOMEN
Friday 14 March Cameroon 0,506 Contribution of immigrant women
Saturday 15 March Sudan 0,516 Organizations of and for African immigrants
Sunday 16 March Iraq no data Women building peace

Cuaresma 2008 - 40 días con los 40 últimos

(http://www.marianistas.org/~justiciaypaz/cuaresma/).

Calendario 2008

1 El IDH (Índice de Desarrollo Humano) resulta un valor entre 0 (nulo desarrollo) y 1 (pleno desarrollo)

FECHA PAÍS IDH1 Tema
       
LA INFANCIA DE LAS NIÑAS
miércoles 6-feb Níger 0,311 Nutrición y crecimiento
jueves 7-feb Sierra Leona 0,335 Niñas soldado
viernes 8-feb Malí 0,338 Discriminación en el crecimiento
sábado 9-feb Burkina Faso 0,342 El trabajo infantil de las niñas
domingo 10-feb Guinea Bissau 0,349 Matrimonios precoces
       
MATRIMONIO, MATERNIDAD, FAMILIA
lunes 11-feb Rep. Centroafricana 0,353 Mortalidad materna
martes 12-feb Chad 0,368 Poligamia
miércoles 13-feb Etiopia 0,371 Tareas domésticas
jueves 14-feb Burundi 0,384 La doble discriminación de las mujeres mayores
viernes 15-feb Mozambique 0,390 Derechos humanos y dignidad humana
       
VIOLENCIA SEXUAL
sábado 16-feb R.D. Congo 0,391 Violencia sexual en tiempos de guerra
domingo 17-feb Somalia sin datos Mutilación genital femenina
       
SALUD
lunes 18-feb Malaui 0,400 Sida y mujer
martes 19-feb Zambia 0,407 Acceso a la sanidad
miércoles 20-feb C. de Marfil 0,421 Objetivos del Milenio en temas de salud
jueves 21-feb Benin 0,428 Educación para la salud
       
EDUCACIÓN
viernes 22-feb Tanzania 0,430 Analfabetismo femenino
sábado 23-feb Angola 0,439 Niñas que abandonan el colegio
domingo 24-feb Afganistán sin datos Educación de las mujeres bajo los talibanes
lunes 25-feb Guinea 0,445 Mujeres en la Universidad
       
VIOLENCIA SOCIAL
martes 26-feb Nigeria 0,448 Lapidación de mujeres
miércoles 27-feb Ruanda 0,450 Las más vulnerables en tiempos violentos
jueves 28-feb Eritrea 0,454 Discriminación social de las mujeres
       
EL ACCESO AL TRABAJO
viernes 29-feb Senegal 0,460 La difícil huida hacia el Norte rico
sábado 1-mar Gambia 0,479 Oportunidades de empleo digno para las mujeres
domingo 2-mar Corea del Norte sin datos El mercado comercial del sexo
       
EL TRABAJO DE LAS MUJERES
lunes 3-mar Haití 0,482 Trabajos y economía informal en la ciudad
martes 4-mar Mauritania 0,486 El trabajo cooperativo de las mujeres
miércoles 5-mar Kenia 0,491 La tierra es de los hombres (no de las mujeres)
       
MUJERES Y CULTURA
jueves 6-mar Zimbabue 0,491 Mujeres y sabiduría espiritual
viernes 7-mar Yemen 0,492 Políticas de igualdad
sábado 8-mar Lesotho 0,494 Triple discriminación: mujer, pobre y negra
       
MUJERES Y POLITICA
domingo 9-mar Liberia sin datos Mujeres en los parlamentos
lunes 10-mar Yibuti 0,494 Derecho femenido al voto
martes 11-mar Togo 0,495 Organizaciones que trabajan con mujeres africanas
miércoles 12-mar Suazilandia 0,500 Derechos de los pueblos indígenas y Derechos Humanos
jueves 13-mar Uganda 0,502 Hacia un mundo mejor gracias a las mujeres comprometidas
       
APRENDIENDO DE LAS MUJERES
viernes 14-mar Camerún 0,506 Lo que aportan las mujeres inmigrantes
sábado 15-mar Sudán 0,516 Organizaciones por y para las inmigrantes africanas
domingo 16-mar Irak sin datos Las mujeres construyen la paz